There’s only one F in Fulham

The Fulham Fanzine 2019-20 Championship Season

Back        Home        Next


March 2018 was our last meeting

  In the last eight games it's been 4 wins, 3 draws and 1 defeat

billp TOOFIF Updated Sunday, 24 November 2019

Preston North End 0 v FFC 0  DEC 07 2019

We have to press on at Deepdale

Is another away win too much to wish for?

billp TOOFIF Sunday, 24 November  2019


It was nearly seven months after the Titanic struck an iceberg that Preston Norh End left the Cottage on November 9 1912 after coming up against an implacable Fulham defence, we'd sunk them 3-1 in the old Second Division.

One hundred and seven year later, we have played a total of 66 games, having lost 24, drawn 12 and won 30.

Preston North End and Fulham share a nickname as well as playing in similar colours, both are often referred to as the Lillywhites

Match Information

from FFC online

Competition: Sky Bet Championship

From the Home Page


Back        Home        Next

Preston North End Football Club (often shortened to The North End or PNE) is a professional football club in Preston, Lancashire, whose team currently plays in the EFL Championship, the second tier of the English football league system. Originally a cricket club, Preston have been based at

Deepdale since 1875. The club first took up football in 1878 as a winter fitness activity and decided to focus on it in May 1880, when the football club was officially founded. Deepdale is now football's oldest ground in terms of continuous use by a major league club.

Preston North End was a founder member of the Football League in 1888. In the 1888–89 season, the team won both the inaugural league championship and the FA Cup, the latter without conceding a goal. They were the first team to achieve the "Double" in English football and, as they were unbeaten in all matches, are remembered as "The Invincibles". Preston won the league championship again in 1889–90 but their only major success since then has been their 1938 FA Cup Final victory over Huddersfield Town. The club's most famous players have been Tom Finney and Bill Shankly, who are both commemorated at Deepdale by stands named after them. Other notable players include Tommy Docherty, Alan Kelly Sr. and Graham Alexander.

Until 1961, Preston were usually members of the First Division but, having been relegated after the 1960–61 season, they have not yet returned to the top flight. They were first relegated to the Third Division after the 1969–70 season and have spent 28 of the 49 seasons since 1970 in the bottom two divisions, including a span of 19 seasons from 1981 to 1982 to 1999–2000. Preston have faced serious financial issues and were twice in danger of closure. The club is now owned by businessman Trevor Hemmings and has been established in the EFL Championship since gaining promotion in 2015.